Biography of Julianne Moore

Julianne Moore


Photo by quicheisinsane


In 1983, Moore moved to New York City to work as waitress and used this time as an opportunity to cast for various roles. She eventually got cast in the dual roles of Frannie Hughes and Sabrina Hughes on the soap opera: As the World Turns which she played from 1985 to 1988. Her performance in the television series earned her a Daytime Emmy Award. In 1987 she became a part of a junior company in New York premier of Caryl Churchill’s Serious Money at The Public Theater. Due to the Screen Actors Guild, she had to change her name because two other actresses already had the names Julie Smith and Julianna Smith so she chose her middle name Moore as her last. There was also another actress named Julie Moore so she had to use Julianne as her first name.
In the 1990’s she began starring in feature films and supporting roles in films like ‘The Hand That rocks the Cradle, Benny & Joon’ and ‘The Fugitive’. She later gained acclaim for her performance in the 1993’s ‘Short Cuts’. In the late 1990’s to early 2000’s she started to appear in a series of films that receive Oscar recognition, including her roles in Boogie Nights (Best Supporting Actress nomination) The End of the Affair (best Actress nomination) and her two 2002 films, Far from Heaven (Best Actress nomination and The Hours (Best Supporting Actress nomination). She also gained commercial success for her role in the movie Hannibal and The Forgotten. Outside of film, Moore made her Broadway debut in David Hare’s play Vertical Hour on November 2006 which was directed by Sam Mendes.

Outside of her acting career, she is signed to IMG Models in New York City and since 2002 has been a celebrity spokes model for Revlon. She has made appearances on print ads and commercials that include Halle Berry, Kate Bosworth, Jessica Alba and Susan Sarandon. In October 2007, Moore made her literary debut with the publication of Freckleface Strawberry, a children’s book based on her experience as a child and created a follow up with the second book titled Freckleface Strawberry and the Dodgeball Bully in April, 2009.

Prev2 of 4Next


You must be logged in to post a comment Login